Managing Partner (Americas), DLA Piper

Stasia Kelly became Co-Managing Partner of DLA Piper in 2010, the first woman to hold that role in the firm’s history. She has held General Counsel positions at AIG, Fannie Mae, and Sears. Stasia says one of the biggest challenges she’s faced in her career is being the only woman in the room; today, she works to change that through frequent mentoring, serving on DLA Piper’s Leadership Alliance for Women Lawyers, and as Treasurer of LCLD’s Board of Directors.

DLA Piper is a top-ranked firm for women, and in 2017 announced a commitment to pilot the Mansfield Rule, which encourages law firms consider a diverse slate of candidates for all leadership roles, equity partner promotions, and lateral positions.  The firm’s other diversity efforts include unconscious bias training, flexible work solutions, and various pipeline initiatives. 

DLA Piper was named an LCLD Top Performerin 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, and 2019.

Joined LCLD 2009

Highlights of LCLD Participation


LCLD Board of Directors
Secretary, 2013-2015 
Board Member, 2012-2018

Fellows Program
Hosted Leadership Lunch (2017) 
Fellows nominated: 
2020: Poonam Kumar; 2019: Ferlillia Roberson; 2018: John Daiwon Huh; 2017: Arleen A. Nand; 2016: Richard L. Cruz; 2015: Nancy Nguyen Sims; 2014: Cara D. Edwards; 2013:  Joshua Briones; 2012: Angela Crawford; 2011: Peter M. Ellis


Pathfinder Program
Pathfinders selected: 
2020: Priya Narahari, Eric Ortiz; 2019: Leena Chopra; 2018: Samuel Esan, Brittany McCants; 2017: Melanie Garcia; 2016: Asa Wynn-Grant; 2015: Alvin Johnson 

1L LCLD Scholars Program
Scholars hosted:
2019: Parth Kalaria, Carla Luna; 2018: Andrew Yu; 2017: Aaron Bonner, Jean Gabat, Hajra Nashin; 2016: Mingshu Liu; 2015: Gina Chen, Faiza Anwer Hasan, Lexi Peacock; 2014: Matt Diaz, Michael Rullo; 2013: Cameron Jordan, Jeffrey Oh, Ingrid Perez; 2012: Michael McCLain, Edwin G. Mercado; 2011: Kevin Anderson Franco, James Mason, Asa Wynn-Grant

Success in Law School Mentoring Program
Mentors provided: 2017, 2014, 2013, 2012

Annual Meeting (2019, 2017, 2015, 2014)
Leadership Summit (2018, 2017, 2014)

Member: Stasia Kelly

Diversity Professionals: Alyssa Eskra, Natalie Vujiko