Managing Partner, Baker Botts L.L.P.


John Martin became Managing Partner of Baker Botts in 2019, and is dedicated to optimizing the firm's diversity and inclusion and pro bono initiatives. Previously, John was Partner-in-Charge of the firm's Palo Alto office and the firmwide Partner-in-Charge of Recruiting; he was also instrumental in opening the firm's San Francisco office in 2016. 

As part of LCLD's Leaders at the Front initiative, John created a Leader's Pledge detailing his personal and organizational commitment to diversity, equity, and inclusion. Read John's pledge here

Since 2004, Baker Botts has worked to recruit and retain individuals with disabilities, receiving both local and national recognition for its efforts. In 2019, the firm was recognized by Diversity Lab as "Mansfield Certified-Pus" for achieving representation of at least 30% women and diverse lawyers in several key areas, including significant leadership roles and promotions. 

Baker Botts was an LCLD Top Performer in 2015, 2018, 2020, 2021, and 2022. 

Joined LCLD 2009 

Highlights of LCLD Participation

Fellows Program
Fellows nominated: 
2022: Chauntelle Wood; 2021: Jennifer Wu; 2019: Jason Wilcox; 2018: Natalie Alfaro Gonzales; 2017: Richard Ramirez; 2016: Guillermo Santiago Christensen; 2015: Heather Choi; 2014: Carlos R. Romo; 2013: Christa Brown-Sanford; 2012: Omar J. Alaniz; 2011: Terence L. Rozier-Byrd

Pathfinder Program
Pathfinders selected: 
2022: Gabriela AlvarezLindsay Buchanan; 2019: Tecuan Flores; 2018: Ruben Gandia, Ty’Meka Reeves-Sobers; 2017: Christine Ryu, Chris Hunt; 2016: Mysha Lubke, Jenny Zhang

1L LCLD Scholars Program 
Scholars hosted:
2022: Keaton Blazer, Jean Choi, William Ellis, Zain Imam, Brian Kim, Sahra Merchant, Lucas Migliano, Victoria Miller, Haekyong Min, Luke Norrell, Alexis Pinzon, Yuyan Pu, Lyla Sax, Tai Won Yoo, Dhara Patel; 2021: Ricardo Pagulayan, Evan Kudler, Xiaohua Wei, Amy Jiang, Taylor Gamboa, Roger Kang, William Anderson, Armaan Bhimani; 2020: Daniel Kim, Aaron Ramcharan, Elizabeth Trask, Sadie Kavalier, Julia Douglas, Christian McFall, Day Robins, Yemaj Sheik, Raena Waldman, Hannah Fan, Jeffrey Jiang, David Yun, Marisa Thompson; 2019: Michelle Chin, Boyang Zhang, Phillip Greenfield, Aida Liman-Tinguiri, Paul Caintic, Shelby Saxton, Ryan Chastain; 2018: Andrea Siso; 2017: Beatriz Albornoz, Hensey Fenton, John Phelan; 2016: Josephus Allmond, Sydney Booker; 2015: Carlos Miguel Marquez; 2014: Masood Anjom, Brandon Chen, Catherine Essig, Megan Mason; 2013: Jennifer Cieluch, Ty'Meka Reeves; 2012: Timothy Hughes

Success in Law School Mentoring Program
Mentors provided: 2021, 2020, 2019, 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012

Annual Meeting (2021, 2019, 2018, 2016, 2015, 2014)
Leadership Summit (2019, 2016)


Member: John Martin

Diversity Professional: Kathy Bowman-Williams, Heather Choi