Firmwide Co-Managing Partner, Arent Fox LLP


Cristina Carvalho became Co-Managing of ArentFox Schiff in 2022; she was previously Managing Partner of Arent Fox, where she was the firm's first female MP. A native of Brazil, where she practiced for seven years before coming to the United States, Cristina began her career at Arent Fox in 1997 and has held a number of leadership positions at the firm, including serving on the firm’s Executive Committee, as head of the nationally recognized Trademark practice, and on the firm’s Compensation, Associate Evaluation, and Diversity & Inclusion committees. Cristina also serves on the Advisory Board of Transforming Women's Leadership in the Law, a Thomson Reuters board.  

At ArentFox Schiff, 36% of attorneys are women and 24% are minorities. The firm has consistently earned a perfect score 100 in the Corporate Equality Index by the Human Rights Campaign and continues to be Mansfield Certified. ArentFox Schiff also has a Diversity Scholarship for minority law students. 

Prior to the firm's merger, Schiff Hardin was named an LCLD Top Performer in 2021. 

Joined LCLD 2014  

Highlights of LCLD Participation 

Fellows Program
Fellows nominated: 
2022: Mohammed Farooqui; 2021: Emily LeonginiSuzanne Wahl; 2020: Anne-Carmene AlmonordLauren Novak; 2019: Alexander BirkholdMelody Cross; 2018: Eva J. PulliamHeidi Hennig Rowe; 2017: Lewis GossLynn Watkins; 2016: Matthew R. Mills; 2015: Tope K. Yusef; 2014: Jennifer C. Terry

Pathfinder Program
Pathfinders selected:
2022: Maggie Lopez, Karoline Nunez, Anthony-Ray Sepulveda, Melisa Seyhun; 2021: Sarah AngelinoHugo GallegosNadia PatelChristopher Wong; 2020: Brittany SokoloffRobert MiddletonMalerie Roddy; 2019: Aman KakarAnnie LeeDavid PiAhmed RiazMalerie Roddy; 2018:  Mohammed FarooquiDavid PiWarren SeayMolly Wiltshire; 2017: Lucy BickfordMeera ChandramouliApril JohnsonSara Rosenberg

1L LCLD Scholars Program
Scholars hosted: 
2017: Linda Qiu, Ariana Taylor; 2016: Tyrone Hankerson, Joshua Kameel, Katarina Varriale; 2015: Karoline Nunez; 2014: Jade M. Watkins

Success in Law School Mentoring Program
Mentors Provided: 2021, 2020, 2019

Annual Meeting (2022, 2020, 2019, 2018, 2017, 2016, 2014)
Leadership Summit (2021)


Members: Cristina Carvalho, Joseph Krasovec

Diversity Professionals: Jill AttkissonJennifer Halliday, Sailesh Patel, Christine McGuinness,  Samantha SchooleyAlison BygraveErika Wieting

Communications: Nathan Carlile, Linda Yun