Chair, Finnegan, Henderson, Farabow, Garrett & Dunner, LLP


Born in Guyana, Anand Sharma moved to the United States as a child and spent time as a NASA software engineer before joining Finnegan in 1995. He became Managing Partner in 2019, and is the first person of color to hold that role—making Finnegan one of the largest firms led by a person of color. Anand became Chair of the firm in 2022. 

Anand has long been a leader on diversity; he created Finnegan’s diversity and inclusion committee and was its first chair. Under his leadership, Finnegan partnered with Howard University to teach patent law and works with Microsoft and the Hispanic National Bar Association to give Hispanic students exposure to IP law. The firm also values diversity at the leadership level—as of 2019, Finnegan’s management and compensation committees were over 60 percent diverse, and the firm is committed to improving retention of diverse attorneys. 

“It’s not enough to have a diverse class that joins the firm, the effort has to be in retention and matriculation,” Anand said in an interview. “It’s important that attorneys that join us see a path at the firm to partnership and management positions.” Read more about Finnegan's diversity efforts here

Joined LCLD 2014

Highlights of LCLD Participation

Fellows Program
Fellows nominated:
2022: Karthik Kumar; 2021: Aaron Clay, 2020: Danielle Duszczyszyn; 2019: Clara Jimenez; 2018: Aliza G. Carrano; 2017: Cecilia Sanabria; 2016: Naresh Kilaru; 2015: Li Feng; 2014: Mareesa A. Frederick 

Pathfinder Program
Pathfinders selected: 
2022:  Christina Ji-Hye Yang, Carlos Duarte-Guevara; 2021: Connie Lee, Sydney English; 2020: Kara Specht; 2019: Aaron Clay, Shawn Chang; 2018: Mindy Ehrenfried, Samhitha Medatia; 2017: Clara Jimenez, Yanbin Xu

1L LCLD Scholars Program
Scholars hosted: Dara Emami

Success in Law School Mentoring Program
Mentors provided: 2021, 2020, 2018, 2016 

Annual Meeting (2022, 2021, 2020, 2019, 2016, 2014) 


Members: Anand Sharma, Erika Arner

Diversity Professional: Esther Lim

Communications: Yanera Lopez