Chair, Sidley Austin LLP 

Yvette Ostolaza is Chair of Sidley’s Management Committee. She is also a member of the firm’s Executive Committee and former Managing Partner of the Dallas office. Yvette is one of the world’s foremost business litigators, delivering winning results for clients at each stage of complex multijurisdictional commercial disputes and corporate investigations. Yvette is currently recognized by Chambers as a Band 1 litigator and is one of a small number of Chambers-recognized practitioners in the area of crises management. Recently, The Center for American and International Law recognized Yvette as a Patrick E. Higginbotham Inns of Court “Master,” its highest designation. She currently serves on the board of the leading media company, Lionsgate Entertainment where she is the Chair of the Nominating and Corporate Governance Committee. She is also recognized for her community involvement in charitable activities. In 2016, Yvette was named a recipient of the Girls Inc. Women of Achievement Award. She has received the prestigious Dallas ADL Larry Schoenbrun Jurisprudence Award for her outstanding leadership and exemplary contributions to the community. She serves on the board of the AT&T Performing Arts and Dallas Theater Center.

Sidley Austin's mission drives its commitment to diversity, equity, and inclusion and its DEI goals, which are to recruit, hire, develop, and promote exceptionally talented lawyers from all backgrounds around the globe, regardless of gender, race, ethnicity, national origin, disability status, sexual orientation, gender identify or expression, or beliefs. The firm strives to maintain a culture of inclusion and collegiality in which we help each other to best serve our clients, each other, our profession and our communities. 

Joined LCLD 2009

Highlights of LCLD Participation

Fellows Program
Hosted Leadership Lunch (2013)
Fellows nominated:
2022: J. Simone Jones; 2021: Deeona Gaskin; 2020: Melissa Colon; 2019: Matthew Dolan; 2018: Marissa Alter-Nelson; 2017: E. Anna Ha; 2016: Sara Garcia Duran; 2015: Joshua Hill; 2014: Anny Huang; 2013: Daron Watts; 2012: Jose F. Sanchez

Pathfinder Program
Pathfinders selected: 
2022: Alexandria Ruiz, Stephen Chang; 2021: Natalie Chan, Mario Samos, Chanse Barnes; 2020: Samina Bharmal; 2015: Atman Shukla 

1L LCLD Scholars Program
Scholars hosted: 
2021: Elisha Marquez, Melissa Gerdts, Rochelle Ballantyne, Lucille Li, Joanne Louis, Estella Serrano; 2020: Ausjia Perlow; 2019: Aashiq Jivani; 2018: Sarah O'Brien; 2017: Oluwafemi Aborisade; 2016: Juan Hernandez; 2015: Ke'Andra Levingston; 2014: Justine C. Plaut; 2013: Andria Montoya; 2012: Lauren De Lilly

Success in Law School Mentoring Program
Mentors provided: 2013

Annual Meeting (2017, 2015, 2014)
Leadership Summit (2014)


Member: Yvette Ostolaza

Diversity Professionals: Maria Melendez Chiymelle Nunn, Byron TaylorPran Jha, Yolanda Garcia, Rollin Ransom

Communications: Matthew Messinger