Managing Partner, Dorsey & Whitney LLP

William Stoeri became Managing Partner of Dorsey & Whitney in 2019, after 30 years with the firm. He previously led the firm's Global Trial Group, Health Litigation Practice Group, and Healthcare Industry Group. William serves on the Minnesota Historical Society Executive Council and was President of the Board of the Alumni Association of Kalamazoo College. 

As part of LCLD's Leaders at the Front initiative, William created a Leader's Pledge detailing his personal and organizational commitment to diversity, equity, and inclusion. Read William's pledge here

In 2018, Dorsey received Mansfield Certification Plus, making it one of only 27 law firms recognized for implementing the “Mansfield Rule.” This initiative is focused on increasing the representation of women and minorities in law firm leadership roles.

Dorsey’s other diversity efforts include a Diversity Advisor program which matches minority, LGBTQ, and senior women associates with partner advisors, a fellowship program for diverse law school students, and a number of other internal initiatives. Additionally, Dorsey sponsors and participates in several minority bar associations and other diversity-focused organizations.

Dorsey was named an LCLD Top Performer in 2020, 2021, and 2022. 

Joined LCLD 2009

Highlights of LCLD Participation

Fellows Program
Fellows nominated:
2022: Nicole Strydom;  2021: Shevon Rockett; 2020: Kerith Kanaber; 2019: Divya Gupta; 2018: JoLynn Markison; 2017: Charlene Marie Krogh; 2016: Rabeha Kamaluddin; 2015: Anthony Epps; 2014: Elizabeth Rozon Baksh; 2013: Shawna L.F. Anderson; 2012: Cassandra H.M. Headrick; 2011: Taiesha L. McBroom

Pathfinder Program
Pathfinders selected: 
2022: Connor Hansen, Roxanna Gonzalez; 2021: Christina Carroll, Maral Shoaei; 2020: TaraLynn Casperson, Tiana Towns; 2019: Clark Yeh, Tiffany Shimada; 2018: Rachel Benedict, Andrea Wechter

1L LCLD Scholars Program
Scholars hosted:
2022: Alex Ream, Micayla Bitz, Philip de Sa e Silva, Job Okeri, Grant Two Bulls, Lauren Peterkin, Danielle Igbokwe, Olivia McQuarrie; 2021: LaBreonna Bland, Laura Newberry, Alisa Simons, Trent Colbert, Chadohl Kang, Tricia Archuleta; 2020: Dana Bradley, Tia Kerkhof, Jeremy Miller, Elena Modi, John Salazar, Yareen Lee, Zachary Scott; 2019: Nicholas Castillo, Monica Delgado, Bianca Tillman, Khalid Abdl-Haleem, Gloria Park, Solmy Huamani, Van Vu; 2018: Heaven Chandler, Michelle Irukera, Julia Lisi; 2015: Camila Hanson, Sapna Khatri, Ryan Rivera; 2014: Neha Khandhadia; 2013: Riley Moore; 2012: Josh Hinman

Success in Law School Mentoring Program
Mentors provided: 2021, 2020, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012

Annual Meeting (2022, 2021, 2020, 2018, 2017, 2016, 2014)
Leadership Summit (2021, 2019)


Member: William Stoeri

Diversity Professionals: Cornell Moore, Cam Hoang, Joan Oyaas

Communications: Jeri Longtin-Kloss