Managing Partner, Perkins Coie LLP 

William Malley became Firmwide Managing Partner of Perkins Coie in July 2019, after serving as Managing Partner of the firm's Washington, D.C., office since 2010. Under Bill’s leadership, Perkins Coie’s D.C. office experienced strong growth in attorney diversity; as of 2019, 56 percent of attorneys were women, lawyers of color, or LGBTQ+. Bill also has a strong commitment to pro bono service, and Perkins Coie’s D.C. office was recently recognized for outstanding pro bono service by the Washington, D.C. Circuit Standing Committee on Pro Bono Legal Services.

As part of LCLD's Leaders at the Front initiative, Bill created a Leader's Pledge detailing his personal and organizational commitment to diversity, equity, and inclusion. Read Bill's pledge here

Perkins Coie’s diversity efforts include a 1L Fellowship program, affinity groups, and an annual diversity retreat. The firm has received a perfect score on the Human Rights Campaign’s Corporate Equality Index since 2009 and was one of the top law firms on Fortune 100’s Best Companies to Work For list in 2015.

Joined LCLD 2009

Highlights of LCLD Participation

Fellows Program
Hosted Leadership Lunch (2014)
Fellows nominated:
2022: Alberto Araiza; 2021: Alisha Burgin; 2020: Samuel Jo; 2019: Chian Wu; 2018: Javier F. Garcia; 2017: Martha Sandoval; 2016: Justin L. Moon; 2015: Tiffany P. Cunningham; 2014: Dennis Hopkins; 2013: Bobbie J. Wilson; 2012: Frederick B. Rivera; 2011: Joseph Q. McCoy

Pathfinder Program
Pathfinder Selection:
2022: Pam Wang, Jordon De La Cruz; 2021: Sopen Shah, Shekida Smith-Sandy; 2020: Liz Mendoza, Roque Thuo; 2019: Brandon Johnson

1L LCLD Scholars Program
Scholars hosted:
2021: Anna Thompson; 2017: Mikaela Colby, Ernan Kiselica; 2016: Adrianna Chavez; 2015: Lindsey M. Huang; 2013: Taimur Case, Ashley Grisham, Gyushik Jang, Jeanine Joseph, Amanda Moncada, Randall Robinson, Malvika Sinha, Wesley Sze; 2012: Nicholas Colvin, Heba Elayan, Susan Har, Maily Hoang, Elizabeth Mendoza, Young K. Moon, Mitesh Patel, Antonieta Pimienta, Lisa Qi, Robert Saka, Vincent Ying, Andrew Yocopis

Success in Law School Mentoring Program
Mentors provided: 2021, 2017, 2015, 2013

Annual Meeting (2019, 2018, 2016, 2015, 2014) 
Leadership Summit (2022, 2021)

Member: William Malley

Diversity Professionals: Genhi BaileyTanya JohnsonTheresa Cropper

 Communications: Jodie Joung