Managing Partner, Hunton Andrews Kurth LLP

Wally Martinez served as LCLD’s second Chair, succeeding Founding Chair Rick Palmore in 2013. Named one of the nation's “50 Most Influential Minority Lawyers” by the National Law Journal, Wally has been instrumental in establishing Hunton Andrews Kurth as a foundation stone of LCLD, making human and material resources available to LCLD since its founding.

As part of LCLD's Leaders at the Front initiative, Wally created a Leader's Pledge detailing his personal and organizational commitment to diversity, equity, and inclusion. Read Wally's pledge here

Hunton Andrews Kurth's diversity efforts include “Oneness Luncheons,” which provide a forum for minority lawyers to network and engage with others, a women’s initiative, and its LGBT Initiatives Task Force. The firm has been named one of the “50 Best Law Firms for Women” and one of the “100 Top Workplaces for Women.”

In 2022, Hunton Andrews Kurth was named an LCLD Top Performer for the tenth consecutive year. 

Highlights of LCLD Participation


LCLD Board of Directors 
Member, 2009-2014

Fellows Program
Hosted Leadership Lunch (2013)
Fellows nominated:
2022: Armin Ghiam; 2021: Fawaz Bham; 2020: Clare Ellis; 2019: Sunyi Snow; 2018: Landon S. Eustache; 2017: Amber M. Rogers; 2016: Cecilia Y. Oh; 2015: Sergio Oehninger; 2014: Jamila S. Mensah; 2013: Rita Davis; 2012: Corey Lee; 2011: Rudene Haynes


Pathfinder Program 
Pathfinders selected: 
2022: Erin JenningsAlessandra Hylander; 2021: Perie Koyama, Sumaira Shaikh; 2020: Ming Lei, Rail Seoane; 2019: Latosha Ellis, Yeshake Yilma; 2018: Mayme Donohue, Henry Jin; 2017: Candace Moss, Yves Nguyen; 2016: Fawaz Bham, Laura Thayer Wagner; 2015: Brittany Bacon

1L LCLD Scholars Program
Scholars hosted:
2022: Donald English, Nathaniel Jones, Conner Huggins, Madalyn Moore, Valeria Chavez, Mary Triplett, Aaseesdeep Kaur; 2021: Charles Lampkins, Vera Wang, Jessica Lamour, Monica Rodriguez, Asha McCorvey, Raychelle Eddings, Jeff Willis; 2020: Natalie King, Hyun Jai Oh, Talha Chaudhry, Paula Ajumobi; 2019: Laila Khan, Ryan Wynne, Marissa Walker, William Hinton; 2018: David Davis Jr., April Filtz, Monica Grover, Deanna Hall, Sophie Kim; 2017: Alyson Brown, Jackie Chang, Victoria Chang, Akiyah Francis, Victoria Nguyen; 2016: Nicholas Ramos, Matthew Rosendahl, Vid Sankar, Harshil Shukla, Diana Vall-Ilobera; 2015: Mohamed Al-Hendy, Kenesia L. Cook, Taylor Mioko Dewberry, Candace Johnson, Phoebe Anne Willis; 2014: Luke Gilhooly, Camille Powell, Remington Shepard, Jennifer Wong; 2013: Ujjayini Bose, Bria Delaney, David Mitchell; 2012: Juan Mendoza, Mai Denawa, Rebekah Scherr, Janet Martini

Success in Law School Mentoring Program
Mentors provided: 2021, 2020, 2019, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012

Annual Meeting (2021, 2020, 2019, 2018, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014)

Member: Wally Martinez

Diversity Professionals: Emma Merritt, Judith Itkin

Communications: Carol Currie, Laurie Wright