Presiding Partner, Debevoise & Plimpton LLP


Michael Blair joined Debevoise in 1981 and became Presiding Partner in 2011. He has served as lead counsel in a host of major M&A transactions, advised senior executives and boards of directors on governance matters, and handled securities transactions for clients across a range of industries. Michael also serves as a Director of The Partnership for New York City, a Trustee of the Smith Richardson Foundation, and a Life Fellow of the American Bar Foundation.

As part of LCLD's Leaders at the Front initiative, Michael created a Leader's Pledge detailing his personal and organizational commitment to diversity, equity, and inclusion. Read Michael's pledge here

As Presiding Partner, Michael has furthered Debevoise & Plimpton’s long-standing commitment to diversity and inclusion. For ten consecutive years, Debevoise has received a perfect score in the Human Rights Campaign Foundation’s Corporate Equality Index as one of the “Best Places to Work for LGBT Equality” and, for two years in a row, Debevoise has been recognized as “Best for Diversity” by Chambers Associate in their annual rankings. Additionally, the firm has been named to The American Lawyer’s “A-List” every year since its inception and has also been recognized ten times by Working Mother as one of the “Best Law Firms for Women” for utilizing best practices in retaining and promoting women lawyers, including offering flexible work arrangements and targeted sponsorship programs.

Debevoise was named an LCLD Most Active Member Law Firm in 2016, 2017, and 2018. 

Joined LCLD 2009

Highlights of LCLD Participation


LCLD Board of Directors
Treasurer, 2016-2019
Member, 2012-2015

Fellows Program
Fellows nominated: 
2022: Emily Huang; 2021: Michael McGregor; 2020: Simone Hicks; 2019: Sally Bergmann; 2018: Arian June; 2017: Anne Balla; 2016: Ramya S. Tiller; 2015: Jennifer L. Chu; 2014: Le V. Lam; 2013: Cari A. Wint; 2012: Natalie Reid; 2011: Richard D. Robinson

Pathfinder Program
Pathfinders selected: 
2022: Javier Alvarez-Oviedo, Adrianna Finger; 2021: Alexandra Swain, Alicia Lee; 2020: Farhana Choudhury, Tigist Kassahun; 2019: Joy Guo, Chen Xu; 2018: Emily Huang, Laura Sinisterra; 2017: Richard T. R. Harper, Simone Hicks; 2016: Kamal Nesfield, Neelima Teerdhala; 2015: Terra Gearhart-Serna, Robert Williams Jr. 

1L LCLD Scholars Program
Scholars hosted:
2021: Gabriela Gabbidon, Nilofar Rahimzadeh, Christian Rodriguez, Lynn-Saskya Toussaint, Brandon Welcome, Alexandra Jimenez; 2020: Magali Duque, Basil Fawaz, Elisabeth Lopez, Damonta Morgan, Meron Wendwesen; 2019: Ayomide Omobo, Moses Kim, Justin Brooks, Lorena Rodriguez, Melissa Muse, Noni Brown; 2018: Andrea Acosta, Nestor Almeida, Perpetua Chery, Andres Gutierrez, Emily Jenab; 2017: Jeri Brown, Sarah Hill, Jason LeBlanc, Elizabeth Tobierre, Ashley Vazquez; 2016: Alexa Henry, Travis Ortiz, Ignacio Saldana, Nana Agyeman Taylor; 2015: Austin Clarke, Brittney Christine Cox, Carolina Vieira de Barros, Jose Lamarque, Maria Maldonado, Jonathan Miu; 2014: Azeezah Goodwin, Antuan Johnson, Alicia Lee, Daniel Pedraza, Rodrigo Seira; 2013: Renee Garrick, Tigist Kassahun, Franco Mussio; 2012: Tarik Elhussein, Daniella Jones, Kirkland Al Lynch, Maria B. Navarro, Pooja Patel

Success in Law School Mentoring Program
Mentors provided: 2020, 2016, 2014, 2013, 2012

Annual Meeting (2020, 2019, 2018, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014)
Leadership Summit (2018, 2017, 2016, 2014)


Member: Michael Blair

Diversity Professional: Faith Chung,  Marc Grainger

Communications: Jason Weinzimer