Co-Managing Partner, Munger, Tolles & Olson LLP

Malcolm Heinicke has spent his career at Munger, Tolles & Olson; he worked as a summer associate in 1998, was elected to partnership in 2003, and became Co-Managing Partner in 2019. In addition to recognition as a top labor and employment lawyer, he was appointed Chair of the San Francisco Human Rights Commission, overseeing and enforcing the city’s anti-discrimination laws and policies. Malcolm also enjoys playing baseball and golf, coaching youth sports, and California history.

Munger, Tolles & Olson has won several awards for its inclusion of women, due in part to a robust women’s initiative that provides events, a library of resources specifically for women lawyers, and strong work-life policies. The firm also has a variety of pipeline programs, including partnerships with For People of Color Inc., the UCLA Law Fellows Program, and the National Association for Urban Debate Leagues. 

Joined LCLD 2009

Highlights of LCLD Participation

Fellows Program

Fellows nominated:
2022: Wesley Burrell; 2020: Robyn Bacon; 2019: George Fatheree; 2016: Achyut Phadke; 2015: Martin E. Estrada; 2012: Katherine K. Huang; 2011: Joseph Ybarra

Pathfinder Program
Pathfinders selected:
2022: Ruby GarrettSara McDermott; 2021: Teresa Reed DippoJuliana Yee; 2020: Vincent LingAdele El-Khouri; 2018: Kuruvilla OlasaKenneth Trujillo-Jamison; 2016: Karen Lorang

1L LCLD Scholars Program
Scholars hosted: 
2022: Jona Boçari, Kyle Groves, Sahana Matthews, Gabriela Monico Nunez; 2021: Amanda Harris, Eduardo Jacobo-Arill, Ashley Kim, Eric Xu; 2020: Kimberly Idoko, Onyekachi Aghasili, Daria Rose, Deserae Lane, Xaviera Webb, Min Lobb, Rana Sahar; 2019: Uzoma Orchingwa; 2017: Rhoda Hassan, Andrew Nguyen, Saul Ramirez; 2016: Andrew Francisco, Ike Ikeme; 2015: Bilal A. Malik, Honieh O.H. Udenka; 2014: Michael C. Baker, Margarita Botero, Justine S. Coleman; 2013: Jerel Dawson, Keith James, Mary Kwon, Robert Niles, Ifeanyi Victor Ojukwu, Matthew Verdin; 2012: Christina N. Coutu, Elizabeth M. Mak, Brionna N. Ned, Cindy C. Unegbu

Success in Law School Mentoring Program
Mentors provided: 2016 

Annual Meeting (2017, 2016, 2015)


Members: Malcolm Heinicke, Hailyn Chen

Diversity Professionals: Shellye Pruitt, Tiffany McQueen, Kristiana VarelaAchyut Phadke, David Fry, Kathleen Forster