Partner and Firm Chair, Quarles & Brady LLP


Kimberly Johnson became the Chair of Quarles & Brady in 2013, the first female chair in the firm’s 120-year history. She also sits on the firm’s Diversity Committee and works to make sure diversity is what makes the firm distinctive. 

“Our diversity programming is calculated to eliminate inequalities so that we can all be equally successful,” Kimberly said in an interview with Inside Counsel. “But we do it because it’s in our firm’s DNA, and that has allowed us to move beyond ‘diversity, good’ and to the point of ‘diversity, of course.’”

In keeping with Kimberly’s philosophy, Quarles & Brady has many diversity initiatives, from their Women in Leadership Program to minority scholarships to a diversity blog written by attorneys at their many offices. The firm also offers all diverse attorneys a diverse mentor, in addition to the mentor they are assigned to as associates.

Quarles & Brady was named an LCLD Most Active Member Law Firm in 2014, 2016, 2017, and 2018.

Follow Kimberly on Twitter: @Quarles_Chair

Joined LCLD 2009

Highlights of LCLD Participation

Fellows Program
Hosted Leadership Lunch (2019, 2018, 2017, 2013)
Fellows nominated:
2020: Marian LaLonde; 2019: Maria Kallmeyer; 2018: Nikia Gray; 2017: Jaya F. White; 2016: Valerie P. Vidal; 2015: Christian G. Stahl; 2014: Hector Joseph Diaz; 2013: Dawn C. Valdivia; 2012: Steven V. Hunter; 2011: Edward A. Salanga

Pathfinder Program
Pathfinders selected: 
2020: Ameera Haider; 2019: Joy Johns, Teri Small; 2018: Christopher DangAmelia Beck Valenzuela; 2017: Nicolas H. Meza; 2016: Louis A. Klapp; 2015: William Walden 

1L LCLD Scholars Program
Scholars hosted:
2020: Elise Ashley, Mehak Qureshi; 2019: Andrew Franklin, Roberto Arbulu; 2018: Adrian DiMelis, Danielle Stanciel; 2017: Martin Childs IV, Madeline Cordray, Benjamin Lockwood, Suhani Mehrota, Jordan Schettle; 2016: Shanan Essick, Yalda Godusi, Paige Grenne, Ally Nicol, Sydney VanBerg; 2015: Margo Casselman, Jerome Mohsen, Tracy Reyes, Symone Shinton, Ken Yandell; 2014: Sean Fernandes, David Hedges; 2013: Anne-Louise Mittal, An Nguyen; 2012: Sharunda Owens, Joshua Proper, Travis Romero-Boeck

Success in Law School Mentoring Program
Mentors provided: 2015 

Annual Meeting (2019, 2018, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014)
Leadership Summit (2019, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014)


Member: Kimberly Johnson

Diversity Professionals: Darlene Austin

Communications: Julie Cole