Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director, Buchanan Ingersoll & Rooney PC

Joseph Dougherty became CEO of Buchanan Ingersoll & Rooney in 2016 after serving as Managing Shareholder of the firm's Philadelphia office and Chair of the firm's Advisory Committee. He joined the firm in 2006 and has played a critical role in the firm's growth. Joe is a Board Member of the Philadelphia Chamber of Commerce.  

As part of LCLD's Leaders at the Front initiative, Joe created a Leader's Pledge detailing his personal and organizational commitment to diversity, equity, and inclusion. Read Joe's pledge here

Buchanan Ingersoll & Rooney believes that the different backgrounds, experiences, and perspectives of their attorneys enhance the legal services and partnerships they provide their clients. The firm's diversity initiatives include an intensive, one-year business development program for female attorneys and a sponsorship program for diverse attorneys on the cusp of promotion to shareholder. 

Buchanan Ingersoll & Rooney was named an LCLD Top Performer in 2019 and 2022. 

Joined 2014

Highlights of LCLD Participation

Fellows Program
Fellows nominated: 
2022: Charlene Gedeus; 2021: Tina Hu- Rodgers; 2020: Jason Parish; 2019: Jennifer Olmeda Rodriguez; 2018: Christopher R. Thorn; 2017: Mariah L. Passarelli; 2016: Kathleen Jones Goldman; 2015: Shawn Bernard Cage 

Pathfinder Program
Pathfinders selected:
2022: Mike Michel, Jorge De La Hoz; 2021: Olivia Minnis, Kyle Black; 2020: Sydney Normil, Bridget Daley; 2019: Haley Ayure, Robert Holland; 2018: Victoria Oguntoye, Niraj Rath; 2017: Ellyn A. Kamke, LaToya Sawyer-Ndizeye; 2016: Linda Jing Zhou Young 

1L LCLD Scholars Program
Scholars hosted:
2022: Tess Frydman, Jordan Fields; 2021: Christopher Klein; 2019: Nancy Fisher, Oljas Majitov; 2018: Nadijah Campbell, Don Crawford; 2017: Kandyse Samuel, Sarah Tobias; 2016: Kareemah Mayer, Ruba Noor; 2015: Rondell M. Jordan, Michele A. Ramos, Delvin Turner

Success in Law School Mentoring Program
Mentors provided: 2021, 2020, 2019, 2017, 2016, 2015 

Annual Meeting (2021, 2020, 2019, 2018, 2017, 2016, 2015)
Leadership Summit (2021)

Member: Joseph Dougherty

Diversity Professional: Lloyd Freeman