Chairman, Kirkland & Ellis LLP

Jon Ballis became Chairman of Kirkland & Ellis in 2020. He led the opening of the firm's Boston office in 2017 and is recognized as a leading private equity attorney in the U.S. Jon is also the Co-Founder of the Vision for Tomorrow Foundation, an organization that supports children with visual impairments, and serves on the board of the Anti-Defamation League, which fights antisemitism and bigotry. 

He is also vocal about the role lawyers play in promoting social justice, writing in 2020, "As lawyers, we have a unique position in society to make progress in the areas of inclusion and racial and social injustice."

Diversity initiatives at Kirkland & Ellis include an Inclusive Leadership discussion series, a women's leadership initiative, and programs for diverse 1Ls and 2Ls. The firm also provides training, mentoring, and leadership opportunities for diverse attorneys through its Diversity Leadership Series. 

Kirkland & Ellis was named an LCLD Top Performer in 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, and 2022.

Joined LCLD 2010

Highlights of LCLD Participation


Fellows Program
Fellows nominated:
2022: Eric White; 2021: Shaun Mathew; 2020: Paul Tanaka; 2019: Luke Guerra; 2018: Erin Johnston; 2017: Joseph A. Loy; 2016: William Joseph Benitez; 2015: Atif Khawaja; 2014: Jeanne M. Heffernan; 2013: Barack S. Echols; 2012: Diana M. Torres; 2011: Elizabeth L. Deeley

Pathfinder Program
Pathfinders selected:
2022: Keli HuangDanielle O'Neal; 2021: Yimeng Dou, Eduardo Leal; 2020: East Berhane, Erika Lopez; 2019: Andrew Ohlert, Angel Torres; 2018: Beth Dalmut, Tushin Shah; 2017: Alexia Renee Brancato, Jonathan K. Tshiamala; 2016: Tracie L. Bryant, Aparna Yenamandra; 2015: Vikas Didwania, Maggie Flores 

1L LCLD Scholars Program
Scholars hosted: 
2022: Victoria Rackley, Jasmeene Burton-Martin, Daniel Walker, Anthony Aguirre, Christopher Washington, Yasmeen Shrestha, Andrew Lin, Sonya Mattis, Hafzat Akanni, Kenneth Coleman, Cristian Pleters-Escobar; 2021: Khash Goshtasbi, Jeffrey Cole, Lydia Seifeselassie, Jack Tubio, Jennifer Liu, Luv Karia, Nia Vogel, Daisy Almonte; 2020: Danielle Solaru, Eduardo Morera, Isabella Bergonzoli Jaramillo, Ashton Dubey, Naomi Duru, Matthew Guiang; 2019: Kiana Outen, Tamara Chin Loy, BreYanna Prince, Austin Fregene, Courtney Bibbs; 2018: Katelynn Adams, Princess Daisy Akita; 2017: Tina Chao, Eric Hwang, Malika Moore, Sahel Sra; 2016: Claudia Diaz-Alemany, Suiwen Liang, Heather Lui, Yvette Sokei; 2014: Sarahi Constantine Padilla; 2013: Esther Lukman, Chautney McMillian

Success in Law School Mentoring Program
Mentors provided: 2021, 2020, 2019, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012

Annual Meeting (2018, 2017, 2016, 2015)

Member: Jon Ballis

Communications: Ashley Post, Kate Slaasted