President, Fredrikson & Byron, P.A.

John Koneck is President of Fredrikson & Byron. In 2015, he received the Hennepin County Bar Association’s Pro Bono Publico Distinguished Service Award. John notes that diversity at Fredrikson & Byron is crucial because building diverse teams leads to better outcomes for the clients and communities that Fredrikson serves.

As part of LCLD's Leaders at the Front initiative, John created a Leader's Pledge detailing his personal and organizational commitment to diversity, equity, and inclusion. Read John's pledge here

Fredrikson is a founding member of Twin Cities Diversity in Practice and has a minority scholarship program that provides annual tuition program to minority law students at the University of Minnesota. Counsel for Women, the firm’s women attorney-led initiative, supports attorneys through marketing efforts to target women business owners and executives, programming featuring speakers and training, and networking opportunities both inside and outside of the firm. 

Joined LCLD 2015

Highlights of LCLD Participation

Fellows Program
Fellows nominated: 
2022: Soobin Kim; 2021: Zhu Cheng; 2020: Youn-Jin Kim; 2019: Lousene Hoppe; 2018: Christopher D. Pham; 2017: Mercedes McFarland Jackson; 2016: Loan T. Huynh

Pathfinder Program
Pathfinders selected:
2022: Tina Yin Sowatzk; 2021: Aleida Conners; 2019: Gauri Samant; 2017: June Cheng; 2016: Jeemin Chung

1L LCLD Scholars Program
Scholars hosted: 
2022: Carter Allen, Jordan Boudreaux, Jasmin Hernandez Du Bois, Deqa Mohamed, Anthony Rodriguez; 2021: Elisabeth Bernabe Aramis Mendez Ayesha Mitha Giselle Webber Victor Jimenez; 2020: Schuyler Troy, Jesse Addo; 2019: Wynter Scott; 2018: Zachary McFarland; 2017: Rochelle Hall

Annual Meeting (2020, 2018, 2017, 2016, 2015)
Leadership Summit (2021)

Member: John Koneck

Diversity Professionals: Nancy Howard, Sarah Borgendale, Bethany Myles

Communications: Kelly Griffith