Global Managing Partner, K&L Gates LLP


James Segerdahl became Managing Partner of K&L Gates in 2017 after serving as General Counsel of the firm. He also co-founded the K&L Gates insurance coverage practice. James is a Board Member of the Allegheny Conference on Community Development.

As part of LCLD's Leaders at the Front initiative, James created a Leader's Pledge detailing his personal and organizational commitment to diversity, equity, and inclusion. Read James's pledge here

Diversity initiatives at K&L Gates include a Kickstart Program and  Diversity Fellowship for law students, a strong women’s program, and participation in LCLD. In 2016, the firm gave an endowment to Carnegie Mellon University to research the ethics of artificial intelligence.

K&L Gates was named an LCLD Top Performer in 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2020, 2021, and 2022.

Joined LCLD 2009

Highlights of LCLD Participation

LCLD Board of Directors
Peter Kalis, Member, 2013-2016 

Fellows Program
Fellows nominated:
2022: Christopher Valente; 2021: Christopher Hines; 2020: Loly Tor; 2019: Hector Espinosa; 2018: Marla Tun Reschly; 2017: Nicholas Ranjan; 2016: Calvina Bostick; 2015: Soyong Cho; 2014: Shiau Yen Chin-Dennis; 2013: Dotun O. Obadina; 2012: William J. Simonitsch; 2011: Harvey Newkirk

Pathfinder Program 
Pathfinders selected: 
2022: Marissa Leon Jimenez, Lanette Martin; 2021: Ashley Hersutamto, Reymond Yammine; 2020: Tami Mack; 2019: Tricia McNeill, Jenna Bruce; 2018: Ashby Hardesty; 2016: Jessica Tsao; 2015: Tyler Cesar, Pablo Javier Man

1L LCLD Scholars Program
Scholars hosted:
2022: Benjamin Lukas, Ricardo Taboada; 2021: Isabel Florentino, Myia Pretty, Jerry Du, Katherine Eberdt, Ramita Kondepudi, Kobie Crosley, Clara Nieman, Joshualan Parrish, Aquilla Gardner, Tyana Glaze, Rachel Brocklehurst; 2020: Emily Olsen; 2019: Nicole Banton, Michelle Le; 2018: Jessica Liu; 2017: Thao Nhi Do; 2016: Sarah Ahmed, Elizabeth Olivera; 2015: Nick Gurguis; 2014: Kishore Eechambadi; 2013: JP Tarbutton; 2012: Vivek Krishnan, Jonelle Saunders

Success in Law School Mentoring Program
Mentors provided: 2021, 2020, 2019, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012

Annual Meeting (2022, 2021, 2020, 2018, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014)
Leadership Summit (2015, 2014)

Member: James Segerdahl

Diversity Professionals: Yoonhwi ChoPallavi Mehta Wahi

Communications: Mike Rick