Co-Managing Partner, Munger, Tolles & Olson LLP

A native Californian and first-generation American, Hailyn Chen became Co-Managing Partner of Munger, Tolles & Olson in 2019. She is the first woman of color to hold that position, but that's not a new experience—while working on her undergraduate degree at Yale University, Hailyn was one of the first female coxswains to lead the varsity men's crew team. 

While Hailyn says being a double-minority may cause her to be held to higher standards, she also says it gives her an advantage as a leader: "Growing up as a first generation American, I’m used to code switching—behaving in different ways, depending on context... That’s served me well because it makes me attuned to other people."

MTO has won several awards for its inclusion of women, due in part to a robust women’s initiative—founded by Hailyn—that provides events, a library of resources specifically for women lawyers, and strong work-life policies. In 2016, 21 percent of the firm’s lawyers were minorities and about 50 percent of lawyers promoted to partner were women. 

Joined LCLD 2009

Highlights of LCLD Participation

Fellows Program
Fellows nominated:
2022: Wesley Burrell; 2020: Robyn Bacon; 2019: George Fatheree; 2016: Achyut Phadke; 2015: Martin E. Estrada; 2012: Katherine K. Huang; 2011: Joseph Ybarra

Pathfinder Program
Pathfinders selected:
2022: Ruby Garrett, Sara McDermott; 2021: Teresa Reed DippoJuliana Yee; 2020: Vincent Ling, Adele El-Khouri; 2018: Kuruvilla OlasaKenneth Trujillo-Jamison; 2016: Karen Lorang

1L LCLD Scholars Program
Scholars hosted: 
2022: Jona Boçari, Kyle Groves, Sahana Matthews, Gabriela Monico Nunez; 2021: Amanda Harris, Eduardo Jacobo-Arill, Ashley Kim, Eric Xu; 2020: Kimberly Idoko, Onyekachi Aghasili, Daria Rose, Deserae Lane, Xaviera Webb, Min Lobb, Rana Sahar; 2019: Uzoma Orchingwa; 2017: Rhoda Hassan, Andrew Nguyen, Saul Ramirez; 2016: Andrew Francisco, Ike Ikeme; 2015: Bilal A. Malik, Honieh O.H. Udenka; 2014: Michael C. Baker, Margarita Botero, Justine S. Coleman; 2013: Jerel Dawson, Keith James, Mary Kwon, Robert Niles, Ifeanyi Victor Ojukwu, Matthew Verdin; 2012: Christina N. Coutu, Elizabeth M. Mak, Brionna N. Ned, Cindy C. Unegbu

Success in Law School Mentoring Program
Mentors provided: 2016 

Annual Meeting (2017, 2016, 2015)


Members: Hailyn Chen, Malcolm Heinicke  

Diversity Professionals:  Shellye PruittTiffany McQueenKristiana Varela