Chair, Steptoe & Johnson LLP

Gwen Renigar became Chair of Steptoe & Johnson in 2022, the first woman and youngest partner to lead the firm. She joined Steptoe in 1997 and has served as the firm's Vice Chair and General Counsel, in addition to maintaining a litigation practice in the Washington, DC office.   Gwen also recognizes the importance of pro bono to the legal profession and the communities it serves, and has represented women, children, and victims of violence seeking visa or asylum relief in the United States.

In addition to Gwen's role, women are strongly represented in leadership across the firm: the majority of Steptoe's nine offices are managed by women, the majority of its practice groups have women as leaders, and women make up almost half of its elected compensation committee. Diversity efforts at the firm include a supplier diversity program, affinity groups, and a women's initiative. 

Steptoe was named an LCLD Top Performer in 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2021, and 2022. 

Joined LCLD 2010

Highlights of LCLD Participation 

Fellows Program
Fellows nominated:
2022:Elizabeth CassadyOnika Williams; 2021: Monique Watson; 2020: Amanda Varma; 2018: Stephanie Ann Roy; 2017: Tim Overton; 2016: Brigida Benitez; 2015: Michelle L. Levin; 2014: Kendall R. Enyard; 2013: Erica L. Gerson; 2012: Patricia B. Palacios

Pathfinder Program
Pathfinders selected:
2021: Yvonne Malino; 2020: Judy Wang; 2019: Luke Tillman; 2018: Lauren Azebu; 2016: Alexis Early 

1L LCLD Scholars Program
Scholars hosted:
2021: Matthew Schaible; 2020: Bethany Thomas, Chasity Fair; 2019: Vanessa Rodriguez, Ayana Lindsey, Micah Burbanks-Ivey; 2018: Nailah Ogle, Rebecca Robinson; 2017: Samantha Bollers, Matt Tharp; 2016: Gianna Ceophas, Sally Mordi; 2013: Michelle Sohn; 2012: Tyler Rosenbaum, Jacob Steele

Sucess in Law School Mentoring Program
Mentors provided: 2017, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012

Annual Meeting (2022, 2021, 2020, 2019, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014)
Leadership Summit (2019, 2018, 2017, 2016, 2015)


Member: Gwendolyn Renigar

Diversity Professional: Allison Ilagan

Communications: Tara McElligott