Global Managing Partner, Squire Patton Boggs


Fred Nance was inspired to be a lawyer at a young age. “I was 12 1/2, about to turn 13,” he said in an interview with Smart Business. “I remember seeing the National Guard and Jeeps rolling down the street with machine guns mounted on them that were close enough for me to reach out and touch. There were soldiers with bayonets. My initial inclination toward the law was based on a desire to achieve social justice and eliminate this feeling of powerlessness and helplessness that was rampant in our community.”

Fred has spent his career pursuing social justice and giving back to his hometown of Cleveland. In 2017, he became Global Managing Partner of Squire Patton Boggs, making him the first African American partner on the firm's five-member executive committee and its 12-member global board.  

Squire Patton Boggs’ diversity initiatives include employee resource groups, a women’s initiative, and diversity recruiting partnerships. The firm partners with several groups that promote diversity in the United Kingdom, including annual participation in the Black Solicitors Network Diversity League Table. Squire Patton Boggs has received eight consecutive perfect scores on the Human Rights Campaign's Corporate Equality Index.  

Joined LCLD 2012

Highlights of LCLD Participation

Fellows Program

Hosted Leadership Lunch (2017) 
Fellows nominated:
2022: Rafael Langer-Osuna; 2020: Marques Richeson; 2019: Vishal Gupta; 2018: Pedro Hernandez; 2017: Helen H. Yang; 2016: Traci L. Martinez; 2015: Stacie D. Yee; 2014: Anne Choi Goodwin; 2013: Brian Patrick Woolfolk

Pathfinder Program
Pathfinders selected: 
2022: Deborah Lempogo, Shing Tse; 2021: Christina Knox, Carlos Guzman Plascencia; 2020: Amanda Preston, India Scarver; 2019: Kinal Patel, Keshia Lipscomb; 2018: Nikhita Godiwala, Brandon Roman; 2017: Beatriz E. Jaramillo, Andrew X. Yocopis; 2016:Brandon Gillard, Niyala Harrison

1L LCLD Scholars Program 
Scholars hosted: 
2022: Javier Gomez; 2019: Keerthana Nunna, Juliet Jung, Lauryn Durham, Ian Timmons; 2018: Latrice Burks, Rhianna Wardian; 2017: Morgan Brown, Joan Campau 

Success in Law School Mentoring Program
Mentors provided: 2021, 2020, 2019, 2017, 2016 

Annual Meeting (2022, 2020, 2015, 2014)
Leadership Summit (2016)


Members: Fred Nance, Michele Connell

Diversity Professionals: Alethia Nancoo

Communications: Angelo Kakolyris