Chair of the Executive Committee, Crowell & Moring LLP

Ellen Dwyer serves as Chair of the firm's Executive Committee. She was named one of America’s most innovative managing partners by Law360, in part for her efforts to recruit and retain female lawyers, and led the firm to be named one of the most innovative law firms in North America

“We need to create opportunities for [women] to demonstrate their talent, provide them with relentless feedback, and make them better every day,” Ellen said in an interview with Law360. “We need to be transparent with them about the challenges of partnership, what they need to do to achieve it, and then let them know that we believe in them, and will help them navigate the path to partnership.”

As part of LCLD's Leaders at the Front initiative, Ellen created a Leader's Pledge detailing her personal and organizational commitment to diversity, equity, and inclusion. Read Ellen's pledge here

Crowell & Moring has been recognized for its diversity by the Minority Corporate Counsel Association, the California Minority Counsel Program, and the Human Rights Campaign, among others. The firm is also a founding member of the Diversity and Flexibility Alliance.

In 2022, Crowell & Moring was named an LCLD Top Performer for the seventh consecutive year. The firm also received the award in 2014. 

Joined LCLD 2010

Highlights of LCLD Participation

LCLD Board of Directors
Member, 2014-present; Chair, 2020-2022

Fellows Program
Hosted Leadership Lunch (2015)
Fellows nominated:
2022: Harmon L. (Monty) Cooper; 2021: Michelle Pham; 2020: Lauren Aronson; 2019: Ryan Tisch; 2018: Trina Fairley Barlow; 2017: Xavier Baker; 2016: Chahira Solh; 2015: Karen Hermann; 2014: Beatrice B. Nguyen; 2013: Brian Matthew Koide; 2012: Astor Heaven; 2011: Samaa A. Haridi

Pathfinder Program
Pathfinders selected:
2022: Kayvan Ghaffari, Andrea Charles; 2021: Christopher Garcia, Helen Osun; 2020: Roma Sharma; 2019: Sima Namiri-Kalantari, Chalana Damron; 2018: Charles Austin, Sharmistha Das; 2017: Tiffany Wynn, Rebecca Suarez; 2016: Diana Huang; 2015: Preetha ChakrabartiAshley Southerland

1L LCLD Scholars Program
Scholars hosted:
2022: Candice Gwak, Stephen Huie, Taylor Wilson Whitaker; 2020: Michael Huerta, Suzie Park; 2019: Pauline Nguyen; 2018: Donya Khadem; 2016: Michelle Onibokun; 2015: Jessica Robyn Douglas; 2014: Yungmoon Chang; 2013: Patrick Bassey; 2012: Ross Wolland

Success in Law School Mentoring Program
Mentors provided: 2021, 2020, 2019, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2013, 2012

Annual Meeting (2022, 2021, 2020, 2019, 2018, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014)
Leadership Summit (2022, 2021, 2019, 2018, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014)


Member: Ellen Dwyer

Diversity Professionals: Don Smith, Laura Jenkins

Communications: Christine Elfmann, Phill McGowan, An Pham, Nicole Quigley, Rebecca Carr