Chair of the Management Committee, Covington & Burling LLP


Doug Gibson became Chair of the Management Committee of Covington & Burling in 2020. He has spent his entire career at Covington and has served on the Management Committee since 2012. Doug has been recognized as one of the 50 Most Influential People in Sports Business, representing clients such as Major League Baseball, the National Basketball Association, and the National Football League. 

As part of LCLD's Leaders at the Front initiative, Doug created a Leader's Pledge detailing his personal and organizational commitment to diversity, equity, and inclusion. Read Doug's pledge here

Covington promotes diversity in many ways, through its diversity and inclusion committee, affinity groups, women’s forum, and mentoring programs. In 2019, the firm promoted its most diverse new partner class ever; the class of 14 included nine women and six lawyers of ethnically diverse backgrounds. Covington hosts and sponsors many diversity-related events and constantly examines its progress, improves its efforts, and searches for new and challenging ways to create a more diverse work environment. 

Covington was named an LCLD Top Performer in 2020, 2021, and 2022. 

Joined LCLD 2011

Highlights of LCLD Participation

Fellows Program
Fellows nominated: 
2022: Brandon Thompson; 2021: Helen Hwang; 2020: Henry Liu; 2019: Brianne Bharkhda; 2018: Mona Patel; 2017: Aaron Lewis; 2016: Anne Y. Lee; 2015: Tammy Albarran 

Pathfinder Program
Pathfinders selected:
2022: Valerie Etienne, Phoebe Yu; 2021: Hakeem Rizk, Jachele Vélez; 2020: Fatmata Kabia, Kassandra Maldonado; 2019: Shailee Sharma, Udit Sood; 2018: Kelly Carson, Laura Torre; 2017: Jennifer Holmes, Rani Gupta; 2016: Jaclyn E. Martinez Resley 

1L LCLD Scholars Program
Scholars hosted: 
2022: Tolulope Alegbeleye, Jaime Fong, Guillermo Martínez, Horace Payne, Sydney Smith, Isaiah Agara, Alexandrea Chima, Casandra Delgado, Morgan Martin, Sean Guo, Bryan Ramirez; 2021: Erica Henry, Ifeoma Irobunda, Rheme Sloan, John Priddy, Tiffanie Obilor, Taylor Roberts-Sampson, Winona Paez, Austin Riddick; 2020: Lauren Fukumoto, Mohammed Jagana, Sierra Stubbs, Faith Jackson, Christopher Fu, Deborah Mosley, Julian Savelski, Jeewon Lee, Samantha Noh; 2019: James Holloway, A. Shane Fowler, Andrew Gonzales, Amber Lowery, Taji Hutchins, Nia Joyner; 2018: Christina Higgins, Min Kyung Jeon, Patrick Sam Ntchobo, Nicole Wainner

Success in Law School Mentoring Program
Mentors Provided: 2021, 2020, 2019, 2017

Annual Meeting (2021, 2020, 2018, 2016)


Member: Doug Gibson

Diversity Professionals: Marlene Aquino

Communications: David Schaefer