Senior Partner, Shearman & Sterling LLP

David Beveridge was elected Senior Partner of Shearman & Sterling in 2018. He previously served in various leadership roles across the firm, including Global Managing Partner, Regional Managing Partner-Americas, and Capital Markets-Americas Practice Group Leader in the firm’s New York office. In 2020, alongside 190 other CEOs, David co-signed the Partnership for New York City's open letter in support of programs to address racial injustice and the disproportionate impact of COVID-19 on the city’s Black and minority communities.

Shearman & Sterling has a variety of diversity programs, including the 1L LCLD Scholars Program, a diversity guest lecture series, inclusion network events, and an international associate program. The firm does pro bono work for groups around the world and has legal outreach programs for minority youth. Shearman has been recognized for diversity by the Human Rights Campaign, American Lawyer, the National Law Journal, the Minority Corporate Counsel Association, and many others. 

Joined LCLD 2009

Highlights of LCLD Participation

Fellows Program
Fellows nominated:
2022: Leila Siddiky; 2021: Cassandra Cuellar; 2020: Maria Larsen; 2019: Cody Wright; 2018: Mikael Abye; 2017: Derrick Lott; 2016: Barbara Edwards; 2015: Emeka Charles Chinwuba; 2014: Dana C.F. Kromm; 2013: Jessica K. Delbaum; 2012: Heather Lamberg Kafele; 2011: Paula H. Anderson

Pathfinder Program
Pathfinders selected:
2022: Yi Zhou, Jai Garg; 2021: Camilla Ihenetu, Jingjing Liang; 2020: Stella Bae; 2019: Lisseth Rincon Manzano; 2018: Yoon-jee Kim; 2017: Jackson Murley

1L LCLD Scholars Program
Scholars hosted:
2022: Kaila Alston, Marvin Bell; 2020: Courtney Okwara, Briana Moreno;2019: Dmitry Dobrovolskiy, Thea John; 2018: Alex Polsky, Alessandra Rosales; 2017: Gabrielle Goodrow, Matthew Kelleher; 2016: Andrew Maury, Brittney Nagle; 2015: Jeremy Bunting, Estefania Souza; 2014: Synne Chapman; 2013: Khadijah Robinson 2012: Jacqueline G. Diaz

Success in Law School Mentoring Program
Mentors provided: 2021, 2013

Annual Meeting (2021, 2020, 2017)

Member: David Beveridge

Diversity Professionals: Denise Grant, John Cannon, Pearl Brady, Jessica Lee, Caressa Nguyen, Lina Vasco, D.H. Lee, Loretta Pearce

Communications: Amy Malsin