Chair and Managing Partner, Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP


Barbara Becker is the seventh Chair and Managing Partner in Gibson Dunn’s 131-year history. Prior to this role, she served as Co-Chair of the firm’s M&A Practice Group for over a decade. Barbara also created and led the firmwide Diversity Committee. She has been recognized numerous times by publications such as The National Law JournalNew York Law JournalLaw360, and Chambers.

As part of LCLD's Leaders at the Front initiative, Barbara created a Leader's Pledge detailing her personal and organizational commitment to diversity, equity, and inclusion. Read Barbara's pledge here

Gibson Dunn focuses on diversity at both a strategic, global level and a localized level. The firm is involved in diverse recruiting, 1L programs, and diversity-related organizations. Gibson Dunn is also proud to have represented the plaintiffs in Perry v. Brown, which challenged California’s ban on gay marriage. They have been rated a top firm for diversity by various sources, especially pertaining to female and LGBTQ+ lawyers. 

Joined LCLD 2021

Highlights of LCLD Participation

Fellows Program
Fellows nominated:
2021: Chris Wilson; 2020: Lauren Blas; 2019: Michelle Gourley; 2017: Chantale Fiebig; 2016: Daniel Chung; 2015: Rashida La Lande; 2014: Perlette Michele Jura; 2013: James C. Ho; 2012: Julian W. Poon; 2011: Marcellus McRae

Pathfinder Program
Pathfinders selected:
2021: Kyanna Sabanoglu, Andrenna Berggren; 2020: Matthew Aiken, Duncan Taylor; 2019: Candis Davis, Stephen Herndon; 2017: Kathyrn Cherry; 2016: Matthew Gibbons, Chelsea Norell 

1L LCLD Scholars Program
Scholars hosted:
2021: Hannah Gonzalez, Marina Edwards, Jorge Arias, Roshni Edalur, Angela Uribe, Swathi Sreerangarajan; 2020: Amanda Bello, Aaron Cheung, Peter Moon, Laila Naraghi,  Mitchell Wellman, Kataeya Wooten, Wenyi Xu, To Nh, Huynh, Erim Kim; 2019: Luis Valle, Connor Mui; 2018: Grace Assaye, J. Sebastian Becker; 2017: Elizabeth Ngo, Simon Zhen; 2013: Sylvia Davis, Bharath Krishnamoorthy, Jie Wang; 2012: Angelica Agishi, Nina Xue

Success in Law School Mentoring Program
Mentors provided: 2019, 2017, 2015, 2012


Member: Barbara Becker

Diversity Professional: Zakiyyah Salim-Williams

Communications: Pearl Piatt