Global Managing Partner, Reed Smith LLP


Alexander Thomas joined Reed Smith in 1999 and became Global Managing Partner in 2014. He was previously the Global Chair of the firm’s Litigation Department. Under Alexander’s leadership, Reed Smith has made diversity a strategic priority and added critical roles like Global Chair of Diversity and Inclusion and Executive Director of Diversity Recruiting.

At Reed Smith, women represent 20 percent of equity partners and 32 percent of chairs and office managing partners. The firm’s extensive diversity efforts include mandatory diversity and inclusion training at all levels of the organization, an Associate Liaison system designed to connect associates with Diversity Committee members, and strong support of LCLD. In 2017, Reed Smith also launched a Diversity Summit for firm management, clients, and prospective hires.

Reed Smith was named an LCLD Top Performer in 2016, 2017, 2018, and 2019.

Joined LCLD 2009

Highlights of LCLD Participation 

Fellows Program
Fellows nominated:
2020: Julia Lopez; 2019: Amber Finch; 2018: Denise Michelle Ware; 2017: Keyonn L. Pope; 2016: Jean Fan Kuei; 2015: Nipun J. Patel; 2014: Jason E. Hazlewood; 2013: Tiffany Renee Thomas; 2012: Lorraine M. Campos; 2011: Rana Jewel Wright

Pathfinder Program
Pathfinders selected:
2020: Lora Spencer, Amanda Brown; 2019: Brandon White, Alice Kyureghian; 2018: Claudia Cortes, Reginald Sainvil; 2017: Zalika Tashia PierreMaytak Chin; 2016: Tsedey Abai Bogale, Pakapon Phinyowattanachip

1L LCLD Scholars Program
Scholars hosted:
2020: Meena Kandallu, Brian Kay, Jacob Nikituk, Priya Patel, Marquan Robertson; 2019: Justin Angotti, Haesun Burris-Lee, Zachary Bell, Benjamin Antillon Fernandez, Amanda Lack; 2018: Colin Edwards, Evan Hacker, Michael Harris, Oluwaseyi Odunaiya, Jordan Rose, Matthew Shapiro; 2017: Michael Bassi; 2016: Benjamin Paulsen, Nicole Prieto; 2015: Adebola Olofin, Farzeen Tariq, Gregory D. Vose; 2014: Jorge Rojas; 2013: Yvonne Elosiebo, Takayuki Ono; 2012: Alexander Nk Kanu, Wesley Morrissette

Success in Law School Mentoring Program
Mentors provided: 2019, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012

Annual Meeting (2020, 2018, 2017, 2016)

Member: Alexander Thomas

Diversity Professionals: Peter EllisPatricia ConnerJohn Iino, Casey Ryan, Pauline Vesleno

Communications: John Buchanan