Executive Vice President, Chief Legal Officer, General Counsel, and Secretary, Allstate Insurance Company

Rhonda Ferguson joined Allstate in 2020 after serving as Chief Legal Officer of Union Pacific Railroad. She also spent time as Chief Ethics Officer of FirstEnergy, Assistant General Counsel of Ferro, and a Litigation Partner at BakerHostetler. Rhonda has served on the boards of United Way of Greater Cleveland, Achievement Centers for Children, and the Association of Corporate Counsel, among many others. 

As part of LCLD's Leaders at the Front initiative, Rhonda created a Leader's Pledge detailing her personal and organizational commitment to diversity, equity, and inclusion. Read Rhonda's pledge here

Diversity and inclusion initiatives at Allstate include embedding diversity professionals into succession planning practices, engaging in unconscious bias training, and pay equity analyses. Beginning in 2016, Allstate required all business units to make "inclusive diversity commitments," and in 2019, built those commitments into an enterprise-wide strategy. In 2020, Allstate was named among the Top 50 Companies for Diversity by DiversityInc, recognized in part for the strength of its Executive Diversity Council. 

Allstate was an LCLD Top Performer in 2013, 2017, 2018, 2020, and 2021. 

Joined LCLD 2009 

Highlights of LCLD Participation

Fellows Program
Hosted Leadership Lunch (2017, 2013)
Fellows nominated:
2021: Kristy Gonowon, Dolina Lascaze; 2020: Steven Crittenden, David Schaffer; 2019: Megan Pavich, Deborah Koenen; 2018: Sean Proctor, Brenda Rodriguez Howdershell; 2017: Jocelyn Liu, Gail Bent; 2016: John Lee Schroedel, Angela Leann Grant; 2015: Karen L. Lawrence, Karen Locher; 2014: Jill Reid Cummins; 2013: Maya K. Ewing, Luke D. Yang; 2012: Gerard Gregoire; 2011: Waqas A. Durrani

Pathfinder Program
Pathfinders selected: 
2021: Alfred Blue, Darren Brooks; 2020: Emily Kurz, T Washington; 2019: Anthony Geddie; 2018: Kavita Bhalla, Nicole Hartigan; 2017: Bhashit (Sheek) Shah, Whitney Lomax; 2016: Caleb Redman, Jill Warren

1L LCLD Scholars Program
Scholars hosted:
2020: James Carter; 2018: Amber Morris; 2017: Chantal Norman; 2013: Marie Salter, Chris Washington; 2012: Renee Heyman

Success in Law School Mentoring Program
Mentors provided: 2020, 2019, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012 

Annual Meeting (2019, 2017, 2016, 2015)
Leadership Summit (2021, 2019, 2018)

Member: Rhonda Ferguson

Diversity Professional: Steve Crittenden, Steven Sorenson

Communications: Jen McGrath