General Counsel, McDonald's Corporation

Mahrukh Hussain began her career at McDonald's in 2000 and held roles of increasing responsibility, including time in Switzerland as General Counsel for McDonald's Europe, before becoming U.S. General Counsel in 2013. She also serves as Corporate Secretary for Ronald McDonald's House Charities. Before joining McDonald's, Mahrukh spent four years as an associate at Schwartz, Cooper, Greenberger and Krauss and was clerked for Justice Rita Garman, now Chief Justice of the Illinois Supreme Court. 

In 2019, McDonald's announced its Better Together strategy for gender equality; goals include representation of women at every level that are equal to or better than the representation of women in the external workplace, and improving gender balance in supplier diversity worldwide.  

“More than half of our legal leadership team comprises women and minorities, and it’s similar for our broader function,” Mahrukh said in a 2019 interview. “This is a direct result of working to ensure that diverse candidates are part of our pipeline in hiring and promotions and continuing to build and sustain an inclusive culture.” The company provides internal diversity training, mentoring, and employee business networks to foster a feeling of inclusion and encourage their employees to advance in their careers. 

McDonald’s was named an LCLD Top Performer in 2017 and 2019. 

Read about McDonald's 2017 LCLD Learning Experience here. 

Joined LCLD 2010 

Highlights of LCLD Participation 

Fellows Program 
Hosted Learning Experience (2017, 2012)
Fellows nominated: 
2020: Serena Pruitt, Ariane Panter; 2019: Krystin Hernandez, Valerie Manos; 2018: Melina Hipskind, Suheily Natal Davis; 2017: Savan Nagji Vaghani, Kimberly Wong; 2016: Layla Strothoff, Shilpa Upadhye; 2015: Lisa Kistler, Val Mathelier; 2014: Erica Dawn Brown, Jennifer L. Cohn; 2013: Kristann Carey, Noemi Flores; 2012: Sarah La VoiChad Walker; 2011: Christina ConlinJim Tu 

Pathfinder Program
Pathfinders selected:
2020: Erica McKinney; 2019: Carrie Johnson; 2018: Sheida Ahmadzadeh; 2017: Susan Lester

1L LCLD Scholars Program
Scholars hosted: 
2013: Alejandro Montenegro

Success in Law School Mentoring Program
Mentors provided: 2019, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012

Annual Meeting (2018, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014) 

Member: Mahrukh Hussain

Diversity Professionals: Raven Moore, Mary Burrelle, Layla Strohoff

Communications: Mary Burrelle