Corporate Vice President & General Counsel - Customer Experience & Policy, Microsoft Corporation

Lisa Tanzi joined the Microsoft legal team in 1995 and held leadership roles in areas including the Global Commercial & Field Group and the Business Division before being named General Counsel in 2021. Lisa was previously in private practice at Perkins Coie and Dorsey & Whitney. In 2020, Lisa wrote about how businesses can help communities recover from the COVID-19 pandemic, including through Microsoft's efforts to bring people from under-represented groups into the technology field and create more equitable broadband connectivity. 

As part of LCLD's Leaders at the Front initiative, Lisa created a Leader's Pledge detailing her personal and organizational commitment to diversity, equity, and inclusion. Read Lisa's pledge here.

With a data-informed approach, Microsoft has pioneered the use of incentives for outside counsel to prioritize diversity and inclusion—adding to the corporation’s stellar reputation on these issues. In early 2014, Microsoft Corporation provided a $250,000 grant to LCLD to fund new levels of innovation in our programs and outreach.

In 2022, Microsoft was named an LCLD Top Performer for the ninth consecutive year. 

Joined LCLD 2009 

Highlights of LCLD Participation

Fellows Program
Hosted Leadership Lunch (2014)
Hosted Learning Experience (2012)
Fellows nominated:
2022: Pamela Almaguer, Ivan Ariza; 2021: Emily Krueger, Melanie Scott-Bennett, Jasbir Khalsa; 2020: Megan Yoshimura, Nydia Galarza Rosario; 2019: Annie Vithayathil, Karina Jaurez; 2018: Jembaa MaiNathan Leong; 2017: Emily SchlesingerPablo Tapia; 2016: Jason BarnwellMerisa Heu-Weller; 2015: Kate BehnckenAlicia Lowery Rosenbaum; 2014: Andy MarBarbara Olagaray-Gatto; 2013: Sade FashokunLeigh Ann Lucero; 2012: Marlon FetznerZohra Tejani; 2011: Jack ChenElke Flores Suber


Pathfinder Program 
Hosted Pathfinder First Meeting (2016) 
Pathfinders selected: 
2022: Keyuna Evans, Lauren Winget; 2021: Canek Acosta, Archie Iskaq; 2020: Jay Christian, Ellen Wong; 2019: Nick Jaramillo, Qudus Olaniran; 2018: Charlie BinghamShanelle Henry; 2017: Hanna KimCasiya Thaniel; 2016: Azar KoulibalyAneesh Mehta; 2015: Andrea GriecoMakalika Naholowaa 

1L LCLD Scholars Program
Scholars hosted:
2022: Ayanna Watkins, Bria Smith, Teren Smith, Grace Fortmann, Morgan Lawson, Kian Azizirad, Natasha Vasan, Alec Galustian, Alysa Mo, Travis Cabbell; 2021: Hanna Basra, Nnamdi Nwaezeapu, Rianna Felder, Ibrahim Hinds, Irene Sun, Francys Guevara Sanchez, Jessica Henry, August Gweon, Jamie Saevitzon, Anthony Rychkov; 2020: Daniel Leal, Vanessa Agbar, Samuel Jeffrey, Sonari Chidi, Rosa Chong, Beili Zheng, Maddie McFee, Derrick Vallejos, Dante Taylor; 2019: Sarah Tansey, Emily Harris, Anthony Mahmud, Victoria Hay, Jaz Williams; 2018: Donald Finley, Ryan Giarusso, Dina Kang, Jason Oh, Lin Sun; 2017: David Chough, Nikola Malcolm, Elijah Porter, Jonathan Slack, Patience Veloza; 2016: Maria Adebayo, Reina Almon, Leonel Cojulun, Corben Green, Benjamin Lee, Danielle Liebl, Priyanka Nawathe, Charity Ogbeide, Dana Putney, Daniel Rojas, Nikhil Shah; 2015: Chavez Adams, Shivani Agarwal, Nadia Baksh, Magnus Gan, Bianca LaCaille, Pamela Nwaoko, Apneet Sidhu, Beth St. Clair; 2014: Colinford Mattis, Karice Rhule; 2013: C. Dion Seymour, Celeste Jackson, June Wang; 2012: Jessica Cunningham, Lizzie Gomez, Stacy Smith; 2011: Geuter Aurelien, Jill Mitchell, Rocky White

Success in Law School Mentoring Program
Mentors provided: 2021, 2020, 2019, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012

Annual Meeting (2022, 2021, 2020, 2018, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014)
Leadership Summit (2021, 2016, 2015, 2014) 

Member: Lisa Tanzi

Diversity Professionals: Y-Nhi DangKeri Banghart

Communications: Carol Ann Browne, Dominic Carr, Maura Hoss, Karen BerginMichelle Lancaster, Stephen Carter