Senior Executive Vice President, General Counsel, and Secretary, The Walt Disney Company

Horacio Gutierrez became General Counsel of Disney in 2022. He was previously Head of Global Affairs and Chief Legal Officer at Spotify; prior to that, he spent 17 years at Microsoft, where he held roles of increasing responsibility, from Deputy General Counsel, Intellectual Property and Licensing Group to Corporate Vice President and General Counsel. Horacio holds a Masters of Laws degree from Harvard Law School, a Juris Doctor degree from the University of Miami School of Law; and a Bachelor of Laws degree and post-graduate diploma in corporate and commercial law from Universidad Católica Andrés Bello in Caracas, Venezuela. 

As of 2020, women made up 51% of the workforce and 42% of executives at the Walt Disney Company, while people of color make up 46% of the workforce and 22% of executives. Disney has 70 business employee resource groups around the world and employs more than 10,000 veterans. The company is committed to sharing "stories that matter," working to share perspectives from all over the world. 

In 2022, Disney was named an LCLD Top Performer for the sixth consecutive year. 

Read about Disney's 2017 LCLD Learning Experience here. 

Joined LCLD 2012 

Highlights of LCLD Participation

LCLD Board of Directors

Alan Braverman, Member, 2014-2021

Fellows Program
Hostead Learning Experience (2017)
Hosted Leadership Lunch (2015)
Fellows Nominated:
2022: Rafael Ribeiro, Minnie Alexander, Armando Rodriguez-Feo, Diansjhan Williams-Persad; 2021: Elisa Martinez, Vivian Lee, Eugene Holmes; 2020: Betsy Zedek, Grace Liang, Heather Anderson; 2019: G. Fabricio Lopez, Christina McEnerney, Catherine Bridge; 2018: Alicia Schwarz, Steve Chung, Shawna Swanson; 2017: Rhonda HjortKathryn Ratte, Renee Yuen

Pathfinder Program
Pathfinders selected:
2022: Koyejo-Isaac Idowu; 2021: Funmi Showole

1L LCLD Scholars Program
Scholars hosted:
2022: Neil Dekovich, Tolu Ojuola, Sikudhani Foster-McCray; 2021: Kathleen Joo, Mattea Jones, Abla Belhachmi, Ivette Arriaga; 2019: Thomas Darby II; 2018: Tiffany Dayemo; 2016: Logan Patmon 

Success in Law School Mentoring Program
Mentors provided: 2021, 2020, 2017, 2015, 2013, 2012

Annual Meeting (2022, 2021, 2018, 2017, 2016, 2014)
Leadership Summit (2021, 2014)


Member: Horacio Gutierrez

Diversity Professional: Latondra Newton