Senior Executive Vice President and General Counsel, Wells Fargo & Company

Ellen Patterson joined Wells Fargo as General Counsel in 2020. She was previously Group Head and General Counsel at TD Bank Group and has been named one of American Banker's Women to Watch for the past four years. At TD Bank, Ellen led the Women in Leadership program and, in the wake of the #MeToo movement, led initiatives to help ensure that men remained engaged with diversity and inclusion efforts. 

Wells Fargo has a history of diversity dating back to its bilingual services for Chinese immigrants in the 1870s. The company is also a supporter of female business owners, financial literacy, and the LGBT community. In 2017, Wells Fargo was ranked No. 9 on DiversityInc's Top 50 Companies for Diversity list

In 2022, Wells Fargo was named an LCLD Top Performer for the fourth consecutive year. The company also received the award in 2017.

Joined LCLD 2012  

Highlights of LCLD Participation 

Fellows Program 

Hosted Leadership Lunch (2018, 2012)
Fellows nominated:
2022: Abigail Bustamante, Pedro Salazar; 2021: Manijha Kadir-Kaghaz, Deepa Zavatsky; 2020: Jo Eason, Neera Chatterjee; 2019: Gonzalo Frias, Dedria Kolb; 2018: Hannah Lee; 2017: Brandon M. Williams; 2016: Miho Kubota; 2015: Aparna Mahesh Dave; 2014: Brandon Neal; 2013: Core S. Cotton, Martine Therese Olson-Daniel

Pathfinder Program 
Pathfinders nominated:
2022: Danielle Young, Eric Lewis

1L LCLD Scholars Program 
Scholars hosted:
2022: Bo Byers, Taylor Thomas, Hilary Cheung, Kiana Woods, Laura Carrera; 2021: Nathan Britton, Jonathan Umanzor; 2020: Trevor Jordison, Parth Deshmukh, Irene Cai; 2019: Anthony Rascon, Clark Butler, Michaela Bolden, David Chu, Cianna Swanson, Arianna Ghavami; 2018: Estela Barajas, Jennifer Chavez Rivera, Gabriel Marc Flaa, Alexa Gamble, Nestor Gonzalez, Shawn Williamson; 2017: Kevin Cunningham, Ariana Hernandes, Khristopher Johnson-Deloatch, Melanie Pulles Benson, Vivian Sandoval; 2016: Remi Balogun, Arshak Zakarian; 2015: Andrea J. Tovar, Jaclyn Tran; 2014: Kirsten Elizabeth Johanson, Jaslyn Johnson, Raghavi Kharel, Jonathan Emmanuel Madison

Success in Law School Mentoring Program
Mentors provided: 2019, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2012 



Member: Ellen Patterson

Diversity Professionals: Aparna Dave, Manijah Kadir-Kaghaz, Michelle Rhee

Communications: Ancel Martinez