Senior Vice President, General Counsel, and Secretary, Eli Lilly and Company

Anat Hakim became General Counsel of Eli Lilly in 2020. She was previously General Counsel at WellCare Health Plans, where she was recognized as General Counsel of the Year by Corporate Counsel and named to The Legal 500 GC Powerlist. Anat has also served as Associate General Counsel at Abbott Laboratories and spent several years practicing at Foley & Lardner LLP. From 2017 to 2019, she also served on the Florida Federal Judicial Nominating Commission, Southern District. 

As part of LCLD's Leaders at the Front initiative, Anat created a Leader's Pledge detailing her personal and organizational commitment to diversity, equity, and inclusion. Read Anat's pledge here

Eli Lilly has been rated a top company for LGBT employees, Latinos, and women; in 2020, DiversityInc ranked Eli Lilly the No. 3 company for diversity overall and the No. 1 company for the diversity and commitment of its board of directors. Proving its commitment to talent development, the company launched an initiative in 2015 called the Women's Journey, in which it conducted extensive research into why so few women were reaching its senior leadership ranks. The success of this initiative was followed by similar "journeys" with African American, Hispanic/Latino, Asian, and LGBT employees. 

In 2021, Eli Lilly was an LCLD Top Performer for the ninth consecutive year. 

Read about Eli Lilly & Company's 2017 LCLD Learning Experience here and its 2013 LCLD Learning Experience here

Joined LCLD 2010 

Highlights of LCLD Participation

LCLD Board of Directors
Member, 2016-2019

Fellows Program 
Hosted Learning Experience (2017, 2013)
Fellows nominated: 
2022: Michele Szilagyi, Catherine Clements; 2021: Gabriela Ciccone, Danica Hostettler; 2020: Diane Hiiligoss, Michelle Gao; 2019: Veronica Lei, Arthur Shum; 2018: John Paul (JP) Benitez, Carlos Armando Garcia; 2017: Sanjay Jivraj, Tiffany Benjamin; 2016: Ann Whei Chen, Jamie E. Haney; 2015: Alejandro Martinez, Josh Tomas O'Harra; 2014: Andrea Michelle Castetter, Averie K. Hason; 2013: Sonia Chen Arnold, Elizabeth Anne Dingess-Hammond; 2012: Tonya CombsMelanie F.A. Vitalis

Pathfinder Program
Hosted Pathfinder First Meeting (2016) 
Pathfinders selected:
2017: Ashley Garry 

1L LCLD Scholars Program 
Scholars hosted:
2016: Megan Thobe; 2015: Elliot Bum Jin Loncar; 2013: Alyssa Richardson; 2012: Deven Gray, Raqketa Williams 

Success in Law School Mentoring Program
Mentors provided: 2021, 2020, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012

Annual Meeting (2018, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014)
Leadership Summit (2015)

Member: Anat Hakim 

Diversity Professional: Veronica LeiArthur Shum, Brooke Weddle